Welcome to Sheridan Memorial Hospital
1401 West 5th St. Sheridan, WY — 307.672.1000


Sheridan Memorial Hospital is proud to serve the community of Sheridan
and the surrounding region.  Providing excellent patient-centered care is our mission
and these awards demonstrate the hard work and dedication of our doctors and staff.

5-Star Rated (2021, 2022, 2023)

The Overall Hospital Quality Star rating by the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) summarizes a variety of measures across seven quality categories into a single star rating. The ratings demonstrate how well a hospital performed, on average, compared to other hospitals in the U.S. The rating ranges from one to five stars.

We are excited to announce that the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) has recognized Sheridan Memorial Hospital (SMH) with an Overall 5-Star Rating for the third year in a row. This recognition is a result of our physicians and staff showing up every day focused on kind, compassionate and skillful care of our patients. This rating is at a level that only 10.4% of hospitals across the country have attained for 2023 and makes SMH one of only two hospitals in Wyoming to earn a 5-Star designation.

The Star Rating Program is just one of many CMS initiatives designed to improve the quality of healthcare available across the U.S.

Joint Commission Accredited (Since 1964)

As a way of gaining community trust and accountability, SMH continues to earn the Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval for accreditation by voluntarily demonstrating compliance with national standards for healthcare quality and safety every year.

The accreditation award recognizes our dedication to continuously comply with The Joint Commission’s rigorous standards and demonstrates our commitment to excellence for our patients and community.

Top 100 Rural & Community Hospital (2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024)

For the ninth year in a row, SMH has been named to the Top 100 Rural and Community Hospital list. Approximately 880 hospitals are reviewed for this honor. The review process takes into account 37 independent indicators across multiple pillars of performance including: Inpatient Market Share, Outpatient Market Share, Quality, Outcomes, Patient Perspective, Cost, Charges and Finance. All data used to perform this review is publicly available via the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) website.

American College of Cardiology – Heart Failure Accreditation (2020, 2022)

Sheridan Memorial Hospital is proud to announce that the American College of Cardiology (ACC) has awarded SMH the Heart Failure Accreditation based on the hospital’s competence and specific standards that are in place to provide excellent care to patients with heart failure. The mission of the ACC is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health.

The 3-year accreditation is awarded after a rigorous yearlong review and onsite visit by the ACC in which they evaluate 73 mandatory components that focus on the hospital’s policies, standards, protocols, and education related to heart failure.


American College of Cardiology – Cardiac Cath Lab Accreditation (2022)

Sheridan Memorial Hospital is proud to announce that the American College of Cardiology (ACC) has awarded SMH the Cardiac Cath Lab v2 Accreditation with PCI, which means our Cath Lab staff have demonstrated their commitment to providing the Sheridan region with excellent heart care.

The 3-year accreditation is awarded after a multi-faceted clinical process culminating in a rigorous onsite review. The staff has also applied improved methods and strategies of caring for patients, including streamlining processes, implementing guidelines and standards, and adopting best practices in caring for cath lab patients.

Hospice Honors (2015, 2016, 2019, 2021, 2022)

Hospice Honors AwardSMH Hospice was named a Hospice HONORS recipient in 2015, 2016, 2019, 2021 and 2022 by HEALTHCAREfirst, a leading provider of billing and coding services. This award places SMH Hospice in the top 20% of hospice programs in the country and recognizes hospice programs providing the highest level of quality as measured from the caregiver’s point of view. The award is based on survey results from the Hospice section of HCAHPS (Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems) survey. Hospice HONORS recipients must score above average on twenty of the evaluated questions, including “willingness to recommend.”

Area Trauma Hospital Designation (Since 2001)

Sheridan Memorial Hospital has maintained this designation from the Wyoming Department of Health’s State Trauma Program since 2001. Pursuing the designation requires the hospital to undergo an extensive onsite review every three years. The hospital meets stringent requirements and follows the recommended systems of trauma care, including having a systematic, organized and multidisciplinary team approach to medical care.

Pediatric Receiving Facility Designation (2022)


Sheridan Memorial Hospital has been recognized as a Level 1 Pediatric Receiving Facility by the Wyoming Department of Health’s Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) and Wyoming Hospital Preparedness programs. The Wyoming Pediatric Recognition Designation ensures services, equipment, disaster preparedness and staff competencies are in place in a facility that may treat an acutely injured or ill child in Wyoming.